Digital marketing is a broad topic, it’s full of confusing buzzwords and acronyms. It’s easy to get lost in a conversation when something comes up you haven’t heard of before.
We’ve put together an ever-expanding list of over 100 common questions we’ve come across through doing some keyword research. Let’s start at the top:
1. What is Digital Marketing?
Digital Marketing is a specialism within marketing that specifically focuses on helping businesses grow through the internet. Digital Marketing has many aspects, and depending on the industry you work in the types of digital marketing can vary a lot. The most common aspects of digital marketing revolve around trying to get more people to visit a website, app or a specific place online.
Each area of digital marketing can be very in-depth and you can earn a good living specialising in just one of these areas such as SEO (Search Engine Optimisation). Big e-commerce companies that rely on generating a lot of website traffic see SEO as one of the most important parts of their business.
2. Why is digital marketing so popular?
Digital marketing became popular because of its ability to be data-driven and reach people all over the world. The more data we pump online the more targeted your digital marketing campaigns are becoming. There are so many tools for digital marketing today that a lot of processes have become automated.
3. What is Organic Digital Marketing?
Organic means natural, organic digital marketing refers to attracting customers to your website through a ‘natural’ or organic path. For example, the most common organic path someone can take to find you business online is through the use of a search engine. Therefore organic web traffic is deemed to be traffic that has come through a search engine.
Organic digital marketing is the ideal and cheapest way to attract new business, but, it can take a long time to do. SEO is one of the main specialisms, alongside content, used to gain more organic traffic. It can take months for these types of digital marketing tactics to take effect.
4. What are some examples of digital marketing?
An example of digital marketing would be placing an advert on Google’s search results page. Or writing a blog post with the aim it appears in search results. There are lots of different types of digital marketing tactics.
5. What is Digital Transformation?
Digital transformation is a broad term used to describe the process a business goes through when they are trying to ‘modernise’ processes and bring them in line with digital technology.
This is often a process big companies go through that have been around a long time and have some legacy systems that need to be replaced. As it’s quite an ambiguous term, it can be interpreted in many different ways, but typically it relates to large scale digitisation of what are currently offline processes.
6. What is a Digital Marketing Strategy?
A digital marketing strategy is a plan for increasing your company’s visibility online. The ultimate goal of a B2B digital marketing strategy is to increase the number of new clients you win. This is achieved by attracting new prospects and leads to your website through multiple channels and tactics.
If you need help with your digital marketing strategy you can always speak to a digital marketing agency with experience in your industry.
7. What is a Good Digital Marketing Strategy?
Unfortunately there is not one strategy that can be applied to all businesses and be deemed ‘good’. In principle though, a good digital marketing strategy is directed by your ideal client and the personas or people that work within that business. Once you have a deep understanding of what type of business you are trying to attract, and who the people are within that business, your strategy becomes more obvious.
For example, if you target audience work in large multinational businesses and there are a number of stakeholders. You should look to develop a strategy that speaks to each of those stakeholders in a different way. In B2B marketing, making really useful content is the core of a good digital marketing strategy.
8. What is a Digital Marketing Agency?
Most digital marketing agencies will specialise in a particular sector or market and fill focus on some specific techniques for that sector. For example, a B2B Digital Marketing Agency will provide slightly different services than a B2C Digital Marketing Agency.
9. Why hire a digital marketing agency?
It’s appropriate to hire a digital marketing agency to help you with your digital marketing if you have an allocated budget for marketing but don’t have the experience in your business or yourself to execute successfully.
10. What does B2B mean?
B2B stands for Business to Business. It is used to describe in general terms when a company sells to another company rather than an individual consumer. Although, you are selling to an individual and usually multiple individuals within a business.
11. What is B2B Marketing?
B2B is a term used to describe a type of marketing whereby you are selling to a company rather than an individual. An example would be an accountancy firm buying accountancy software.
Although it is a common term, there are blurred lines between what is seen as B2C (Business to Consumer) and B2B marketing, as more often than not you are selling to an individual within a business.
B2B marketing is typically defined by the fact the buyer journey is a lot longer and considered than a B2C buyer journey.
12. What is B2B Demand Generation?
Demand generation is another word for lead generation. In B2B companies, demand generation usually refers to digital marketing activities such as running ads on Google, LinkedIn, Twitter etc. With the idea that you ‘create demand’ for your service.
13. What is the B2B Buyer Journey?
The B2B buyer journey is a term used to describe the process a ‘lead’ or ‘prospect’ goes through when they are looking to buy something for a business they work at.
The B2B buyer journey is unique because it usually involves multiple stakeholders and is often a very considered decision. Unlike a typical B2C buyer journey which usually has 1 or a few stakeholders and can often be impulsive.
The B2B buyer journey can be mapped by first looking into who your key buyer personas are.
14. What is the Customer Journey Map?
The Customer Journey Map is the process of mapping out all the touchpoints your customer has with your business across their journey with you.
This means everything from first discovering you to ongoing support afterwards. It’s important to understand your customer’s journey to see where you can spot potential problems and opportunities.
15. What is a Buyer Persona?
A buyer persona is an attempt at gathering and documenting the common characteristics of your typical buyers. Usually, a company will have a few key buyer personas.
B2B marketers use a buyer persona as the starting point for a lot of their marketing efforts to ensure their key messages are relevant and they are using the right channels to get in front of them.
16. What is B2B SEO?
B2B SEO is a specific type of digital marketing strategy for B2B companies. B2B SEO strategies typically revolve around creating useful content for relevant key terms that relate back to the target audience of the business.
It’s a component of a B2B digital marketing strategy and is also part of what is often called inbound marketing.
17. What is Brand Awareness?
Brand awareness is a term used to describe how many people know about your brand. Building brand awareness is one of the key objectives of marketing for B2B technology companies. Digital marketing tactics in B2B tech marketing for building brand awareness include Inbound Marketing, PPC and SEO.
Once someone has become aware of your brands, the focus switches to qualifying them as a possible customer and then helping them progress through the B2B marketing funnel.
18. What is Content Marketing?
Content marketing is the practice of writing and producing a piece of content, which could take the form of a video, graphic, blog post, book or social media post.
Producing useful and relevant content is the most important part of a B2B digital marketing strategy for software companies. It’s also the hardest thing to do because to do it well takes time and effort.
19. What is Evergreen Content?
Evergreen content is a term used to describe a piece of content that will last the test of time. Opposed to content that is only relevant for a specific period of time. It’s content that continues to remain relevant for years.
An example of a piece of evergreen content would be this glossary article or FAQ. Here’s a useful piece of content that talks about evergreen content in some more depth.
20. What is Long-form Content?
This is a term used to describe a long piece of content written by marketing. ‘Long’ refers to the number of words in the piece and it will typically mean the piece consists of over 3,000 words and up to 10,000 words in some cases.
The benefit of longer content is mainly for SEO, longer content that is more in-depth and provides the user with more information tends to perform better when ranking in search engines.
21. What is a Pillar Page?
A pillar page is a term coined by B2B marketers to describe an important piece of content on a website. Typically it has a large amount of text and is an in-depth article written on a certain topic.
They are called pillar pages because they are linked to and from via smaller pages. This concept came about as a tactic for SEO and content marketing.
22. What is Inbound Marketing?
Inbound marketing is a digital marketing strategy where the aim is for people to find your business online rather than reaching out to them.
It is a very popular strategy with growing B2B businesses because the strategy usually revolves around producing content and ranking in search engines, which, if done well and internally can be a much lower cost than paying for adverts.
A successful inbound marketing strategy will result in what is called ‘organic traffic’. These are website visitors that have found you without any advertising, although tracking this is often a grey area.
23. What is Blogging?
Blogging is the act of documenting information or thoughts. Individuals or a group of people usually maintain a blog. Blogging in the context of B2B technology marketing is a core component of inbound marketing. Blogging can help increase website traffic and leads generated through your website.
24. What is ABM in Marketing?
ABM in marketing stands for Account-Based Marketing. ABM is used to describe the process of selecting specific target clients and marketing to them directly. It’s something that has become popular in B2B companies whereby the average lifetime value of a client to the business (the amount of money they make from one client) is very high.
The aim is to be much more focused and personalised with your marketing efforts and perhaps invest more money per target than you normally would. Often ABM is a blend of both online and offline marketing.
Typically companies aim for a high level of personalisation with marketing campaigns, but it’s not always possible and the reality is most B2B software companies do this to some extent already but don’t define it as ABM.
25. What does HTTP stand for?
HTTP is an acronym for HyperText transfer protocol. HTTP is a protocol that is used to transfer information on the web. You will often see this at the start of a web address http://www.domain-name.com
26. What does HTTPS stand for?
Secure HyperText transfer protocol. HTTPS is similar to HTTP cited above, however, HTTPS specifies that data is/should be encrypted and secure. This is the recommended protocol to be used for any website. Often a browser will notify you if the website you are visiting is not using HTTPS.
HTTPS is also a ranking factor in SEO. Sites that use the HTTP protocol instead will not be ranked as favourably.
27. What is a 301 redirect?
A 301 redirect is a permanent redirection of one website URL to another. This is used a lot when you are designing a new website and you are perhaps removing some pages. It is also common when merging one website into another. Setting this up correctly is an important part of technical SEO. Here’s a useful guide from AHREFs on how to set them up correctly for SEO.
28. What is Error 404?
The error 404 message appears when a visitor tries to go to a web page that does not exist anymore. This can happen if the page has been deleted or moved and the correct 301 redirects have not been put in place.
29. What does API Stand for?
API stands for Application Programming Interface. API is a communication protocol between different parts of a computer program intended to simplify the implementation and maintenance of software. When someone builds a piece of software they likely will have an API that can be used to integrate with different systems.
30. What is a Favicon?
A favicon is a small picture you see beside the webpage title in your browser’s address bar. An example of a favicon in Google Chrome can be seen in the screenshot below.
31. What is a Cache?
A cache is a temporary storage of data collected by your Internet browser as you surf the web, usually including elements from web pages and websites that you frequently visit.
The idea is that caching some elements speeds up your experience as you don’t need to load everything every time. Sometimes when updates have been made to a website you won’t be able to see them because of your temporary cache, this is why “clearing your cache” is often the solution.
32. What are Cookies?
A web cookie or HTTP cookie is a small piece of information/data sent from a website and stored on a users device. It enables websites and users to be able to store useful information about the user, for example, the items they last added to their shopping basket.
33. What does DNS stand for?
DNS stands for Domain Name System. It is a protocol that translates website URLs (which use alphabetic characters) into IP addresses (that use numeric characters).
DNS exists because it is more useful for internet users to remember letters and words in website URLs, but the worldwide web communicates in numbers with IP addresses. Without DNS, every website would just be a string of numbers rather than a traditional URL.
34. What is Audience Building?
Audience building is the process of building a target audience online to use for online advertising. Platforms such as Facebook and Google allow you to create audiences within them based on certain conditions.
Audiences can be built manually using existing data, or automatically using Cookies from people who have visited your website.
35. What is a Lookalike Audience?
A lookalike audience is something typically used in paid advertising channels such as Google Ads, Facebook Ads and Linkedin Campaign Manager. It refers to creating a target audience for your campaign based on an existing audience that you have provided. The benefit of this is that you can let the platform find similar people to target to your existing list.
Most platforms require you to have a minimum audience size of around 1,000 to be able to accurately re-create a lookalike audience that is similar to your own.
36. What is Ad Relevance in Google Ads?
Ad relevance is a term used by Google, and specifically, Google Ads to look at your target keywords and see how closely related they are to your ads themselves. Ad relevance forms a part of your Quality Score.
37. What does PPC stand for?
PPC stands for Pay Per Click and is a type of digital marketing where you only pay when someone clicks on an advert. This is typically used in formats like Google Text Ads.
There is a benefit to this type of approach, in that you only pay when someone clicks on the advert, but, there is no guarantee that click will be from someone who will turn into a lead. PPC is a common part of a B2B digital marketing strategy,
38. What is Quality Score in Google Ads?
Quality score is a metric used in Google Ads for analysing your adverts, you are rated on a scale from 1-10. The score includes your expected click-through rate, ad relevance and landing page experience.
Again undermining the importance of landing page design and content relevance. As stated by Google, a higher score can result in a lower cost and higher ranking for your ads.
39. What is Remarketing?
Remarketing on Google means serving up adverts to someone after they have engaged with your website. The ads relate to the information that was viewed on the website, they can be very specific or very generic.
Typically a remarketing advert on Google is a Display Advert. Some people call this retargeting, but Google themselves refer to it as remarketing.
40. What is Retargeting?
Retargeting is the practice of advertising to someone who has previously visited your website, it is essentially the same as remarketing, as the two words are used interchangeably by different people.
Retargeting requires you to collect audience data from your website visitors. This is usually done through inserting a tag on your website through a tag management system like Google Tag Manager. You can serve up different adverts to visitors depending on what they have done/seen on your website.
41. What does GDN stand for?
GDN is short for Google Display Network. GDN is a network of websites that you can advertise on through Google Ads. Its called the display network because it refers to image and video adverts rather than standard text ads that you will see at the top of Google searches. The display network can help you reach people while they’re browsing relevant websites, watching videos on YouTube and reading emails within Gmail.
Typically brands use the display network as a way of either, raising brand awareness or retargeting website visitors once they have left your website.
42. What does CPC stand for?
CPC stands for Cost Per Click. It is a term used in paid advertising to denote how much it costs when someone clicks on your advert. It’s a metric often used in performance marketing because it allows you to predict spend and impact to a certain extent.
If you use a tool that analyses keywords it will often give you an estimate for the CPC for that term. The cost of a click is like an auction and advertisers bid on how much they are willing to spend for a click.
43. What does CPM stand for?
CPM stands for cost per thousand impressions. It is used in paid advertising platforms like Google Ads as a bidding method. If you choose to run a campaign on Google Ads with CPM as your bidding strategy you are typically looking to get your advert seen by as many people as possible. This bidding strategy is common for display ads and suited to a wide audience.
44. What does CPA stand for?
CPA stands for Cost Per Acquisition. It is a metric typically used in paid advertising platforms that measures how much money is spent in order to acquire a new lead or customer. The cost per acquisition can be calculated by dividing the total spent by the number of conversions, for a given period of time.
45. What does CTR stand for?
CTR stands for Click Through Rate. It is the ratio of how many times an advertisement was clicked on, versus how many times it was shown. It is calculated by dividing the ad’s clicks by the ad’s impressions. For example, if an ad is shown to 1000 people, and 100 of them click the ad, then it has a click-through rate of 10% (100 clicks / 1000 impressions = 10%)
46. What is Google Ads?
Google Ads (previously Adwords) is an advertising platform created by Google that allows advertisers to run adverts on Google’s search engine results pages (SERPs). You can also target Google’s Display Network (GDN), this is a network of affiliate websites that sells advertising space within which you can place ads through the Google Platform.
47. What is Dynamic Retargeting?
Dynamically generated retargeting is something you can do through the Google Ads platform. It allows you to serve up personalised retargeting ads to website visitors based on what they have seen on your website.
This is beneficial to a digital marketer because you don’t have to create individual ads for each variable, Google does that for you based on certain criteria.
Dynamic retargeting is often used by e-commerce companies to show ads based on the products viewed, or added to a cart. To be able to set up dynamic retargeting you need to provide Google with a feed or of your products or services. You’ll also need to go through your website and tag the relevant content with parameters to be used in the ads.
48. What is Performance Marketing?
Performance marketing is a catch-all term that refers to online marketing and advertising programs in which advertisers pay marketing companies when a specific action is completed; such as a conversion on a website, lead generated or a click. It is a popular form of marketing because you pay based on the desired result.
49. What is Paid Search?
Paid search is one form of digital marketing where search engines like Bing and Google allow companies to display ads on their search engine results pages (SERPs). This allows advertisers to be shown at the top of the search results without SEO.
It is though more expensive than obtaining a click via organic means and lots of companies waste a lot of money bidding on competitive keywords.
50. What is Paid Social?
Paid social is a form of digital marketing where social media platforms like LinkedIn, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & Pinterest allow advertisers to target their users through advertising. LinkedIn is a popular platform for B2B Paid Social campaigns as the audience is more relevant.
51. What is SEO?
SEO stands for Search Engine Optimisation. SEO is the process of improving a website’s positioning in search engine results through a variety of methods. SEO became popular when companies realised ranking highly in a search result meant you gained more traffic to your website and therefore more business.
Originally SEO was more of a way of tricking search engines whereas more recently (2020), the algorithms used by companies like Google have become much more intelligent and better and providing its users with the most useful and relevant answer.
This is why producing useful content for a website has become the main driver of SEO, especially in B2B SEO marketing.
52. What is On-site SEO?
On-site SEO is when you make improvements or specific edits to a website to help improve its visibility in search engine results. An example of on-site SEO would be to make changes to the text on a webpage so it includes certain words you would like to be related to. These are generally called keywords.
53. What is Off-site SEO?
Off-site SEO is when you build links to your website from other websites around the internet in order to make search engines treat your website as more relevant and therefore rank it higher in search results. Links from other websites to your website are one of the key ranking factors taken into account when the search algorithms look to rank websites in order.
54. What does SEM Stand for?
SEM stands for Search Engine Marketing. SEM refers to any digital marketing activity that has the overall objective of gaining traffic from a search engine. This groups both paid advertising on search engines (Paid Search) and SEO (Organic Search).
55. What is a SERP?
SERP stands for Search Engine Results Page. This is the page that appears when you type in a search term in a search engine like Google or Bing.
56. What is SEMRush?
SEMRush is an enterprise SEO platform used by marketers around the world. It is deemed one of the best platforms for SEO. In SEMRush you can track keywords, monitor competitors, get content ideas and audit your websites technical SEO as a starting point.
It’s a very popular tool for SEO professionals and it’s renowned for having very powerful keyword research capabilities. Its main competitor is probably AHREFs which is on par but has slightly different features and UI.
57. What is Technical SEO?
Technical SEO is a term used to describe the technical requirements needed for a website to rank highly in a search engine. There are many factors taken into consideration by search engines like Google when choosing which website to rank higher than another.
Some of these factors include website performance issues like speed, security and structure. For example, if a website is very slow, it isn’t providing the user with a good experience and therefore Google will choose to rank a similar website that performs much faster higher in the search results.
58. What is a Google Answer Box?
An Answer Box in Google is a feature of the search engine results page that aims to answer questions quickly in Google. It was developed by Google to provide users with quick answers to questions without them having to click through to a website.
The answer box is often given priority in search results over website listings and therefore it has become a key goal for professionals who work in the search engine optimisation industry.
59. What is Branded Search?
A branded search is when someone types in a brand name into a search engine to find a company. This shows the user is aware of the company. SEO tends to focus on non-branded searches, these are when someone is unaware of your business and is looking for a solution to a problem.
For example, searching for ‘Coca-Cola’ would be a branded search, whereas ‘fizzy drinks company’ would be a non-branded search.
60. What is Non-Branded Search?
A Non-Branded search is when someone searches for something online that doesn’t include a brand or product name. For example, ’email marketing software’ is a non-branded search where as ‘Mailchimp email software’ is a branded search term.
61. What are Canonical tags?
Canonical tags are a piece of code added into the HTML head of a webpage to indicate whether a piece of content is original or duplicated from somewhere else.
Original content should be canonical to itself, and content taken from other places should point the canonical to the original source URL. Canonicals can also be used to avoid duplicate content issues within a website.
62. What is Barnacle SEO?
Barnacle SEO is a tactic used by search engine optimisers of using larger, more reputable websites to promote your own business’ website and gain more traffic.
An example of barnacle SEO for B2B marketing would be to answer questions on Quora or provide some useful media to Wikipedia that can be referenced in a relevant article.
63. What is ALT text?
ALT text is the text that describes a graphical element like a video or an image on a website. It’s information that is hidden from the web-user (unless they hover over the image). ALT text is an accessibility feature that allows tools like screen readers to be able to describe the image to the visually-impaired.
64. Why is ALT text important for SEO?
ALT text is a term often used by SEO experts because they see it as an important part of ranking pages. The alternative text for an image should describe, simply, what the image contains as if someone was describing it to you when you couldn’t see it.
65. What is a Meta Description?
A Meta Description on a website is a short description of a web-page. It appears in search engines results page underneath the title of the page. A relevant meta description is an important part of on-site SEO factors and also your click-through rates.
66. Why is a Meta Description important?
It’s important to include a Meta Description for each of your web pages because it helps people understand what is on the page when looking in a search engine. It’s also a ranking factor in SERP’s so if you are missing Meta Descriptions on your website then your rankings will be impacted by this.
67. What is Domain Authority?
Often shortened to DA, Domain Authority is a term used in SEO and is a way of scoring websites ‘authority from 0 – 100. Domain authority was invented by the SEO company MOZ.
It’s a term used frequently in SEO because when you are trying to gather backlinks from a website, you typically want links from websites with a high domain authority (DA). Often, if you are buying backlinks from an SEO company they will categorise services by domain authority, with the higher ones being more expensive.
68. What is a Featured Snippet?
A featured snippet is a summarized piece of information that Google pulls from a website and places directly into search results, in order to show quick answers to common and simple queries.
Featured snippets appear in a block at the top of search results with a link to the source. Featured Snippets cannot be created by webmasters; Google programmatically pulls the most relevant information from an authoritative site.
Most featured snippets are shown for question queries like “what is _____” or “who invented _____”. Some featured snippets even feature tools like calculator or conversion apps.
69. What is Anchor Text?
Anchor text is the clickable text in a hyperlink. For best practice SEO, it is best to use natural language in this text and avoid overly spammy and keyword-rich text when linking to other sites.
70. What is a Title Tag?
A Title Tag is an HTML attribute of a webpage that refers to the title that is shown in search results and at the top of the page in the browser tab. The title tag is a factor in SEO and how your page is ranked in search engines.
71. What does GSC stand for?
GSC stands for Google Search Console. GSC is a free tool provided by Google that allows you to see your website’s performance in Google. It also gives you access to a few tools allowing you to manage your website in Google, such as indexing pages, managing sitemaps and requesting that pages are removed. GSC is useful for looking at what search queries people are using to find your website and how many impressions and clicks your site is getting.
72. What is Google AMP Pages?
AMP stands for Accelerated Mobile Pages. AMP is an online publishing format developed by Google as a competitor to Facebook’s Instant Articles. AMP pages use special code, AMP-HTML, it is intended to help web pages load quicker when clicked in the Google search results pages on a mobile device.
73. What is a Backlink?
A backlink is a term used mainly in SEO. It is a link from one website to another. Backlinks are seen as an important part of ranking highly in search engines because it is a sign of trust and relevance if a website is linking to your website.
The more “popular” a website is that links to your website the bigger the impact on your search rankings. It is notoriously difficult to gain backlinks from popular websites, Digital PR is a popular method of obtaining what is called High Authority Links.
74. What is GA short for?
GA in digital marketing is short for Google Analytics. GA is a piece of analytics software developed by Google that reviews your website’s performance. It is part of the Google Marketing Platform and is the most widely used analytics tool by webmasters and B2B digital marketers.
75. What is a Landing Page in Google Analytics?
A Landing page in Google Analytics is the page someone visits first when they ‘land’ on your website. This is often a good way of seeing which pages are ranking highly in Google if you cross-reference the landing page URL with the Acquisition Channel.
76. What does Organic Traffic mean?
Organic traffic is when somebody visits your website through a ‘natural’ path. Usually, this refers to finding you through a search engine like Google or Bing. Organic traffic is the opposite to Paid Traffic, this when someone has clicked an advert you have placed.
Without the right tracking systems in place, it can often be hard to attribute a website visit to whether they saw an advert or not. For example, someone may see an advert but not click on it. They may, however, remember the name and then type it into Google, this is called a ‘branded search’.
Organic traffic is highly sought after because it is effectively free. It is, however, notoriously difficult to gain organic traffic in a competitive space as it requires SEO.
77. What is an Acquisition Channel?
An acquisition channel is a term used in Google Analytics to describe the digital channel through which someone has found your website.
The word ‘acquisition’ is also used to describe how you acquired a new customer. Cost of Acquisition or CAC is a calculation used in a lot of SaaS companies.
78. What is BANT?
BANT is a sales acronym used as a way of qualifying a lead. BANT stands for Budget, Authority, Need and Timing. The idea is that you aim to gather this information from a lead to be able to qualify them. So, how much are they willing to spend? Who are the main decision-makers? Can you solve a real problem for them? Do they need your solution immediately?
79. What is Funnel Marketing?
Funnel marketing is a phrase used to describe a way of looking at a B2B buyer journey. The idea is that the further along the journey, the fewer people there are. At the top, you may have website visitors and people downloading bits of content, of which there are many. And at the bottom, you will have people taking part in trials and demonstrations, which there are few.
It is a theory that is widely accepted in B2B marketing and it is adapted in many ways to suit different people’s views on how it works in detail. A popular way of segmenting the funnel is using the acronyms ToFu, Mofu & Bofu: Top of Funnel, Middle of Funnel and Bottom of Funnel.
The digital marketing funnel is one aspect of funnel marketing and is a good way to frame your B2B digital marketing strategy.
80. What does BOFU stand for?
BoFu is short for Bottom of Funnel. It relates to the marketing theory of the funnel shape. Leads that are at the bottom of your marketing funnel are the closest to becoming a customer. Usually, actions that occur at this stage of a buyer journey include demonstrations and trials.
81. What does MoFu Stand for?
MoFu is an acronym short for ‘middle of the funnel’. The funnel refers to the digital marketing funnel used to describe a typical buyer’s journey with your business. As they move down the funnel they get closer to become a customer. The middle of the funnel is typically called the consideration stage. This is where the majority of a B2B buyer’s time is spent.
82. What does CRM stand for?
CRM stands for Customer Relationship Management. CRM is the principle of ensuring you are managing the relationship with all your customers effectively at every stage. CRM is usually supported by CRM software to enable employees to manage relationships effectively.
83. What is a CRM system?
A CRM system is a tool used by companies to manage all the information about their business contacts and enable better relationships. An example of a CRM system would be Salesforce or HubSpot. Modern CRM systems can do much more than just manage contact data.
84. What is HubSpot?
HubSpot is a marketing platform that provides users with features such as marketing automation and email marketing. It is also at its core a CRM system and is used by both sales and marketing teams in small and large organisations.
HubSpot was the company that really invented inbound marketing and the platform is built around the theory of inbound marketing.
85. What is a Chatbot?
A chatbot is a piece of software that runs on a website and allows users to have conversations via their keyboard. Typically simple chatbots will have pre-selected options you can choose from.
From advanced chatbots, some of which use AI (artificial intelligence) software can provide you with answers based on certain words you type. Chatbots are part of marketing automation technology and help save time and money in a variety of businesses, especially businesses who have a large customer service department.
86. What does GTM stand for?
In digital marketing, GTM stands for Google Tag Manager. GTM is a tag management tool for digital marketing professionals. It is a product developed by Google, it helps you manage all your tags without having to edit the code on your website.
87. What does SaaS mean?
SaaS is a term used when describing a business model where a company provides a piece of software as an ongoing service, rather than a one-off purchase. Examples of SaaS companies include HubSpot, Drift, Intercom and HotJar. A SaaS business will typically charge a company on a monthly basis and will measure success by looking at MRR (Monthly Recurring Revenue) and ARR (Annual Recurring Revenue).
A SaaS business is often valued based on these figures and their CAC (Customer Acquisition Cost), LTV (Lifetime Value) and Churn %, which is a calculation of how often you lose a customer as a percentage of all your customers.
88. What does Freemium mean?
Freemium is when software users get basic features at no cost and can access richer functionality for a subscription fee. An example of the Freemium model is a company liked LinkedIn or Dropbox.
89. What does MVP mean in marketing?
In American football, this term means the most valuable player. But in B2B SaaS and in digital marketing, the acronym MVP stands for a minimal viable product.
This usually means the minimum requirements for a product to exist, the first version. MVP is used a lot in software development in the agile development model because it requires product owners to focus on the most important parts of the product.
90. What is Churn Rate?
Churn Rate is a metric that measures how many customers you retain and at what value. You can calculate your churn rate by taking the number of customers you lost during a certain time frame, and divide that by the total number of customers you had at the very beginning of that time frame. (Don’t include any new sales from that time frame.)
For example, if you had 200 customers at the beginning of January and only 100 customers at the end of January (discounting any customers that were closed in Jan), your churn rate would be: (200-100)/200= 100/200 = 50%.
Churn rate is a significant metric primarily for recurring revenue companies. Regardless of your monthly revenue if your customers don’t stick around then you won’t be able to break even
91. What does Enterprise mean?
Enterprise refers to the size of a company. Typically in sales & marketing terms, an enterprise would be a well-established company with a large budget and usually large in size in terms of the number of employees.
They usually will take a long time to make a decision when looking at purchasing a piece of software as lots of different departments and stakeholders will be involved in the decision-making process.
92. What is Lead Generation?
Is a term used to describe the process of generating new business. A lead is usually categorised as a person or company that has an interest in what you offer as a business. Lead generation is the process of trying to attract more leads.
93. What does SAL stand for?
SAL stands for Sales Accepted Lead. SAL is a term used by B2B sales and marketing teams to describe a new lead that fits specific criteria defined by sales that means it will be handled by them.
The term sales accepted came about to help try and align marketing and sales teams on deciding on the lead handover process, meaning, when does the sales team get involved with a new lead generated by marketing. Using the criteria for a sales accepted lead means you have an agreed set of conditions that need to be met before sales handle the lead.
There is no one clear definition for a sales accepted lead, it will be different for every business. A common characteristic, however, is that they have shown a clear intent to buy and have a defined timeline and budget.
94. What is Lead Nurturing?
Is when you are communicating with an existing lead throughout their buyer journey. Usually, this involves activities such as email drip campaigns and other touchpoints.
The aim of lead nurturing is to persuade and influence the lead that your product and/or service is right for them. Lead Nurturing is particularly important in B2B marketing because the sales cycle (the length of time to make a decision) is usually quite long and therefore companies have to work hard to stay ‘front of mind’.
95. What is Lead Scoring?
Lead scoring is the process of assigning a score to your leads based on pre-defined conditions that allow you to prioritise the ones that are most relevant.
This is something that is put in place when a company is generating a lot of leads and needs a more detailed way of prioritising them. Scoring can also be used to trigger events in a marketing automation system like HubSpot. For example: If a lead reaches a score of 70/100 then change the status to “warm” and notify the sales team, or send an automated ‘nudge’ email.
96. What is cost per lead?
Cost per lead is a measure used widely in B2B digital marketing. It’s the total cost of a marketing campaign divided by the number of leads generated. You can segment cost per lead how you see fit, usually, marketers will calculate cost per lead for each of their digital marketing channels.
For example, you may have a cost per lead of £50 on LinkedIn and a cost per lead of £20 on Twitter. It gives an indication of how much it costs to fill the ‘top of the marketing funnel’.
Cost Per Lead = Total Cost / Number of Leads
97. What does MQL stand for?
MQL stands for Marketing Qualified Lead. An MQL is a lead that meets a certain set of criteria that is deemed by your company to show a certain level of intent and fit.
The definition of an MQL is different for every company, but, the common characteristic is usually the level of intent, i.e. they have filled in a form to get in touch on your website rather than just subscribing to a blog.
98. What is a URL?
URL stands for Uniform Resource Locater. The URL is the part of of a website address that comes after the domain name. For example, www.mircosoft.com is the domain, and /services would be the URL. These terms are interchangeable and most people use the term URL to describe the whole website address.
99. What is a URL Slug?
Slug is slang for the portion of a URL that comes after the .com. For example, the homepage might be http://www.domain.com, but for the Contact Us page, a slug would be added to the end of the URL to direct the browser to a page within the website i.e. http://www.domain.com/contact-us.
100. What is an SSL Certificate?
An SSL certificate is a small data file added to web servers that then allow a website to use the HTTPS protocol. SSL certificates digitally connect a cryptographic key to an organization’s details.
Originally, these were used to secure logins, data transfers and credit card transactions, but have recently become the go-to system for websites, especially after the Google Chrome update that displays a warning message to users, if the certificate is not present.
101. What does TLD stand for?
TLD stands for Top-level Domain. An example would be .com or .co.uk. It appears at the end of a website’s full address or domain. In bigger websites, you may have multiple TLDs if your business has translated versions or local versions of your website. For example, .fr for France, .de for Germany and .es for Spain.
102. What does UI mean?
UI stands for User Interface. It’s the tool a user ‘uses’ to operate something. In the case of the website, it’s the elements on the page the user can use to navigate around the website and interact with it easily. UI differs from UX because it references a flat-design rather than an interactive design.
103. What does UX mean?
UX stands for User Experience. It’s a generic term which essentially relates to user-centred design and making sure the user has a good experience when using a product or service. In the context of a website, the user experience relates to their experience of navigating around and using your website.
104. What is a Landing Page?
Generally, the term landing page in digital marketing refers to the page someone lands on first. Landing page design is an important part of digital marketing, especially if you are conducting any paid advertising.
Each advert should have its own landing page designed specifically to convert that audience. Google Ads takes into account landing page content when running your adverts. There are also companies like Unbounce that specialise in landing page software.
105. What is CSS?
CSS stands for Cascading Style Sheet. CSS is a document of code that tells the website’s HTML how it should appear on the screen. It typically takes HTML code and turns it into a graphical interface.
CSS is usually referenced at the top of a webpage and stored in a separate file, you can also apply CSS ‘inline’ which means to directly apply it at the point required on the webpage
106. What is CRO?
CRO stands for Conversion Rate Optimisation. It is the process of improving your website’s conversion rate using design techniques, key optimization principles, and testing. It involves creating an experience for your website visitors that will convert them into customers.
107. What does CTA stand for?
CTA stands for Call to Action. CTA is usually a clickable element like a button on a webpage, email or advert that entices the user to take action. Hence the name ‘call to action’. The formatting and text within a call to action can have a big impact and how well it performs. Including a clear and obvious call to actions on a website is a key part of B2B website design.
108. What is Marketing Automation?
Marketing automation is the act of automating a previously manual task in marketing. A common example of implementing marketing automation would be to send a series of emails after a set amount of time depending on certain actions, this is called an email drip campaign.
Another form of marketing automation would be to automatically assign a lead status to a contact in your CRM system if they performed a certain action, such as, fill in a form on your website.
The objective of marketing automation is to save a marketing team time and money, and, where possible make your buyers journey better too.
109. What is an Email Drip Campaign?
An email drip campaign usually refers to a series of emails that are automated based on certain conditions. For example, you can have an email drip campaign that runs over a period of 6 months that sends a series of emails each month depending on what action was taken on the last email.
At the end of the campaign, the contact will have been categorised in a certain way, for example, qualified or qualified out.
110. What is Enterprise Marketing?
Enterprise marketing is a specific type of marketing targeting larger businesses. Enterprise marketing usually requires a more consultative approach and a larger investment per lead or prospect, this is because the potential pay-off for the company is much larger.
111. What is Personalisation?
This term in marketing refers to producing content and messaging that is ‘personalised’ to a specific prospect. The idea being that by presenting someone with a more personalised message they will have a greater affiliation with what you are selling. Personalisation can be defined in many ways and in most cases it can be as simple as displaying a different homepage on your website to new customers than you serve to existing customers.
112. What does ROI Stand for?
ROI stands for Return on Investment. Return on investment in marketing is the tangible results you get from the investment you have put in. For example, if you spend £10,000 on an online advertising campaign you would want to know what the results where.
For some people, ROI can be simple as the number of people who saw your advert, for others it needs to be the number of sales made. It depends on the original objective of the campaign.
113. What does RSS mean?
RSS is a web feed that allows users access to updates on a website in a standardized format. These feeds can, for example, allow a user to keep track of many different websites in a single news aggregator. An RSS feed is typically generated for news websites or websites that produce a lot of blog content.
114. What is a Segment in Marketing?
A segment is a way of grouping your audience. If you think of your audience as an orange, they can be divided into smaller groups depending on certain conditions. For example, you may want to segment your audience by location, age, job title or the type of software they use to do their job.
When you go through the process of this, it is called segmentation. Segmentation based on your data is often the first thing you need to do to enable personalised marketing messages.
115. What is Social Proof?
Social proof is a term coined by Robert Cialdini in his 1984 book, Influence. It describes a psychological phenomenon wherein people copy the actions of others in an attempt to undertake behaviour in a given situation.
Social proof is most prominent in situations where people are unable to decide what to do, and it is based on the assumption that other people surrounding them possess more knowledge than they do, so they look to copy in some respects.
In B2B digital marketing, social proof is used in the form of case studies, success stories and testimonials of people in a similar situation. It’s one of the most important factors of ‘middle of the funnel’ marketing and can help sway a decision.
116. What is XML?
XML stands for eXtensible Markup Language. XML is similar to HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) in that it is primarily used to categorize various data for computers and humans to use more effectively. In basic terms, XML allows for customizable tags for marking up information that is otherwise difficult for computers to understand.
117. What is an XML Sitemap?
Is a map of your website’s content in an XML format. The XML sitemap is used to help search engines like Google prioritise which pages to crawl and in what recommended order. This is a part of technical SEO and is more important the larger a website becomes and the more pages you are asking a search engine to crawl.
118. What is WordPress?
WordPress is a CMS (Content Management System). It’s an open-source piece of software that is used to build websites. It was initially used mainly as a blogging platform but has subsequently become one of (if not the) most popular ways of building a website.
Because of its foundation in blogging and content, it is perfectly set up to be search engine friendly. There are WordPress Agencies that specialise in building WordPress websites.
119. What is Yoast?
Yoast is a popular SEO plugin for WordPress. It is one of the most successful plugins available for WordPress because of its ease of use and the fact that the basic version is free.
120. What is WP Engine?
WP Engine is a WordPress specific hosting provider. They are well known in the WordPress industry. WP Engine claims to equip you with a suite of agility, performance, intelligence, and integration solutions, so you can build and deploy a range of online experiences from campaign sites to content hubs to e-commerce extensions.